Dallas Fire Hydrants

Dallas Fire Hydrants

If you are around the Dallas area, you will notice these fire hydrants around. I don’t know what it is about them, but I think they are so cool. Now since I have seen at least two thirds of the United States, I have always seen red fire hydrants, yellow, and green but not blue and gray. Now I asked myself, why blue and gray? I thought about it for a while and I said to myself, “oh it’s the Dallas Cowboys colors!” Well not exactly. After doing some research I found out otherwise. The fire hydrants indicate different measurements.  According to the City of Plano sewer design manual, they are to indicate different colors for the specifics of a fire hydrant.  The silver is the color that the city selected, but the fire hydrant’s bonnet shall be painted according to the water main size which for this one is 8″ for blue.  The number indicated on the fire hydrant, 5 1/4 is the standard size for the hoses that fire fighters will be using to fight a fire.  Anyways, it was interesting to know the different rules that the city has for fire hydrants, but at the end of the day, I love the look of them, and they bring a little character to the public locations around the Dallas area.  Hope everyone has a great week!  Thanks for stopping by.

Image

Leave a Reply

